Press release: The New Year’s Honours list 2019

first_img 12% of the successful candidates come from a BAME background; an MBE for Tariq Mahmood Dar, for his work with the community in Brent,London; 1018 candidates have been selected at BEM, MBE and OBE level: 358 atBEM, 422 at MBE and 238 at OBE; Supporting Children and Young PeopleAround 9% of honours are for work in education. The Honours Education Committeehas recommended a damehood for Professor Madeleine Atkins, the former CEOof the Higher Education Funding Council. Other senior awards in education include aCBE for Dr Margaret Wilson, Headteacher at the King John School, Essex; RuthMiskin, creator of the Read Write phonics programme. There is also an MBE forAndrai Zafirakou, Associate Deputy Head, Alperton Community School and 2018Global Teacher Prize winner.Economic ActivityIndustry and the economy make up 10% of this honours list. The EconomyCommittee has recommended Damehoods for Jayne-Anne Gadhia, ChiefExecutive Officer, Virgin Money, for services to financial services and women in thefinancial services; an OBE for Nicola Yates , Senior Vice President, EuropePharmaceuticals, GSK, for services to Women in Business and Workplace Equality;OBEs for entrepreneurs Tom Blomfield, the founder and CEO of Monzo; PaulLindley, Founder of Ella’s kitchen and an MBE for Amali De Alwis, CEO of CodeFirst Girls. 4% of the successful candidates consider themselves to have a disability(under the Equality Act 2010); The New Year Honours list 2019, published on Saturday 29 December, recognises the outstanding achievements of people across the United Kingdom.Awards include a damehood for model, actress and singer Lesley Lawson (aka Twiggy); a knighthood for record breaking cricketer Alastair Cook following his retirement from international cricket; a knighthood for award-winning author Philip Pullman, for services to literature; a knighthood for Dr Jeremy Farrar, Director of the Wellcome Trust; CBE for award winning actress Sophie Okonedo; a CBE for musician Nicola Benedetti; a CBE for children’s author Julia Donaldson; a CBE for journalist Chris Packham; an OBE for Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas; an MBE for Paralympic Head Coach Paula Dunn; and following England’s successful World Cup run in the Summer, an OBE for England Football manager Gareth Southgate; and an MBE for captain Harry Kane.This honours list continues to demonstrate the breadth of service given by people from all backgrounds from all across the UK.In total 1,148 people have received an award: 70% of the recipients are people who have undertaken outstanding work intheir communities either in a voluntary or paid capacity; and 5% of recipients identify as being LGBT.center_img This list highlights a range of extraordinary responses to a number of significant andtraumatic events – honouring those who have overcome personal loss, helpedrebuild communities and whose expertise and dedication showcase the very best ofthe UK.A total of 43 awards go to those involved in the response to the major terroristincidents of 2017, building on the gallantry awards announced in July. Awardsinclude an OBE for Paul Woodrow, Director of Operations at the LondonAmbulance Service; an OBE for Joy Ongcachuy, a theatre nurse at Barts Hospital;and a BEM for Theresa Lam, the Family Liaison Lead for Greater ManchesterPolice. There are a number of awards for police officers nominated following asignificant process undertaken jointly by the Greater Manchester, Metropolitan andCity of London Police Forces to identify the most exceptional contributions fromamong those already recognised with Queen’s Police Medals.In addition, an OBE goes to Mark Prince for tackling knife and gang crime inLondon; a BEM for 28 year old Stephen Addison, who set up boxing classes tochannel young people’s energy away from crime; and a BEM for Cheryl Johnson,who set up the charity Remember My Baby in response to personal loss.Civilian Gallantry ListThis list also coincides with the publication of 12 civilian gallantry awards, whichhave been awarded to those who have demonstrated exceptional bravery – puttingthemselves in danger to protect others.The George Medal has been awarded to Richard Stanton MBE and JohnVolanthen and the Queen’s Gallantry Medal goes to Christopher Jewell andJason Mallinson, for their remarkable efforts in the rescue of 12 junior footballersand their coach, trapped in a cave in Thailand.Seven firefighters from Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service also receive Queen’sGallantry Medals, for their exceptional bravery in rescuing elderly and vulnerableresidents from a serious fire in a 2017.The Queen’s Commendation for Bravery goes to 14-year-old Joe Rowlands, whosaved his father from drowning following a kayaking accident in February 2018.OverviewThe Prime Minister provided a strategic steer to the Main Honours Committee thatthe honours system should support children and young people to achieve theirpotential, enhance life opportunities, remove barriers to success and work to tacklediscrimination.WomenA number of prominent women are being recognised on the New Years Honours list,including a damehood for Professor Louise Robinson, Director of the NewcastleInstitute for Ageing, a damehood for Marianne Griffiths, CEO of the WesternSussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, and a CBE for Dr Helen Pankhurst, senioradviser at CARE International for services to gender and equality.Local CommunitiesIn total, 70% of awards in the New Year Honours list will go to people who haveundertaken outstanding work in or for their local community. Awards include: 544 women are recognised in the list, representing 47% of the total; an MBE for Denis Rogers, who has used his own past experience tobecome a role model for homeless people; a BEM for Catherine Watkins for her work in creating the award winningcharity Vale Parent Child Homework Support Club (VPC) in Rhoose, Vale ofGlamorgan. an MBE for David Morgan, for his tireless work with the Bedfordshire andCambridgeshire Rural Support Group; Read the full New Year Honours list and find out more about how to nominate someone for an award.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *